

Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Older Workers Employment Action Plan

Portfolio Seniors

On 9 March 2022, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee (SWC):

- 1 noted that in September 2021, SWC approved the release of the draft Older Workers Employment Action Plan for targeted public consultation [SWC-21-MIN-0135];
- 2 noted that the final version of the Older Workers Employment Action Plan attached under SWC-22-SUB-0024 responds to public comment and further cross-agency engagement;
- 3 noted that the Older Workers Employment Action Plan contains actions that will facilitate the exercise of rangatiratanga by iwi/hapū and Māori organisations through their collaborating with government and sector groups to address the particular challenges faced by older Māori workers;
- 4 **noted** that the Older Workers Employment Action Plan will remain open to development and opportunities to implement actions in tandem with other employment action plans;
- 5 noted that the Ministry of Social Development will lead implementation of the Older Workers Employment Action Plan;
- 6 noted that the Minister for Seniors will develop a framework for monitoring progress implementing the Older Workers Employment Action Plan, including indicators to assess labour market outcomes for older workers;



8 agreed to the public release of the Older Workers Employment Action Plan, subject to any minor editorial, design and formatting changes approved by the Minister for Seniors.

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

Attendance: (see over)

Present:

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern

Hon Grant Robertson

Hon Kelvin Davis

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon Chris Hipkins

Hon Carmel Sepuloni (Chair)

Hon Andrew Little

Hon Poto Williams

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Peeni Henare

Hon Willie Jackson

Hon Jan Tinetti

Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall

Hon Aupito Williams Sio

Hon Meka Whaitiri

Hon Priyanca Radhakrishnan

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Office of the Chair Officials Committee for SWC